An Awarding Spring: a Versatile Blooming Garden

The garden is in full bloom. It’s Spring in the northern hemisphere and everywhere around flowers are blossoming and foliages are greener than ever.

Il giardino è in fiore. E’ primavera nell’emisfero nord e dappertutto i fiori stanno sbocciando e i fogliami sono più verdi che mai.

Our garden in bloom

I’m particularly proud of our small terraced garden this year, this is why I want to share with you some pictures we’ve been taken in these past few days. No great comments in this post; only pics of the garden that, with its flowering beauty is rewarding us for all our efforts. But this Spring isn’t awarding only for its magnificence. We’ve actually been awarding as the Versatile Blogger by Natalie from Cook Eat Live Vegetarian. Thank you so much, Natalie, for choosing the Culinary Taste!!! This is our second award after the Stylish Blogger Award of a few months ago.

Quest’anno sono particolarmente orgogliosa del nostro giardino, ecco perché ho deciso di condividere alcune foto scattate nei giorni scorsi. Non ci sarranno tante parole in questo post; solo foto del giardino che, con la sua bellezza fiorita, ci sta ricompensando di tanti sforzi. Ma questa primavera non ci sta premiando solo con il suo splendore. Infatti, siamo stati premiati con il Versatile Blogger award da Natalie di Cook Eat Live Vegetarian. Grazie mille, Natalie, per aver scelto the Culinary Taste!!! Questo è il nostro secondo premio dopo lo Stylish Blogger Award di qualche mese fa.

What is this all about? Well, it’s quite simple. To win and deserve this award / Beh, di cosa si tratta? la cosa è piuttosto semplice. Per vincere e meritarsi il premio:

  1. You must thank the person who awarded you by linking back to their post / dovete ringraziare la persona che ha vi ha premiato inserendo un link al loro blog
  2. You have to list 7 interesting things about yourself / dovete scrivere 7 cose interessanti su voi stessi
  3. You have to pass the award on to 15 other new or newly discovered blogs / dovete premiare 15 blog nuovi o scoperti di recente.

Now, let’s try to list 15 flogs. It should be easy but it isn’t because there are so many interesting blogs I like. Not all of them are actually new, or newly discovered. Some are blogs I really love and appreciate and some other are blogs I haven’t visited for a while but hat hold a special place in my life. I must say I wish there were more than 15 blogs to award: I’m so sorry I couldn’t award more… Please forgive me!

Ok, ora cerchiamo di buttar giù 15 blog. Dovrebbe essere facile ma non lo è, perché ci sono tanti blog che mi piacciono. Non tutti sono nuovi o scoperti di recente. Alcuni sono blog che adoro particolarmente e altri sono blog che non visito spesso ma che occupano un posto speciale nella mia vita. Devo dire che vorrei che ci fossero più di 15 blog da premiare: mi dispiace non aver potuto premiarne di più… Perdonatemi!

Here’s the award-winners / Ecco i vincitori del premio:

Cityhippyfarmgirl:
Brydie is a city girl with farm girl aspirations: just like me!!!! She loves anything dealing with fair trade and handmade things: is there anything more to say?
Brydie è una ragazza di città con aspirazioni da contadina: proprio come me!!! Adora tutto ciò che è commercio equo e solidale e fatto a mano: c’è altro da aggiungere?

Blushing Strawberries:
A nice blog that deals not only with strawberries (as you may suppose) but with a lot of healthy recipes and food facts and reviews.
Un bel blog che tratta non solo di fragole (come si potrebbe pensare) ma con un sacco di ricette salutari e info e recensioni sul mondo del cibo.

Foods for the soul:
Foods for the Soul is a fresh, pretty food blog where you can find many good recipes. Have a look at the Alphabet Adventures, a recipe for each letter of the alphabet: a funny idea that won’t let you down!
Foods for the Soul è un blog fresco e carino fove potrete trovare molte buone ricette. Date un’occhiata ad Alphabet Adventures, una ricetta per ogni lettera dell’alfabeto: un’idea divertente che non vi deluderà!

Food 4 Thought:
In Alex’s blog, written both in English and Italian, you can find elegant and beautifully photographed recipes from all over the world. Just have a look at the about me section: you’ll be charmed by the view she sees from her kitchen…
Nel blog di Alex, scritto in inglese e in italiano, potete trovare eleganti ricette da tutto il mondo, splendidamente fotografate. Date un’occhiate alla sezione about me: rimarrete affascinati dalla vista che gode dalla sua cucina…

Tentar non nuoce:
Serena’s Italian blog is full of intersting recipes, especially cakes and sweets. A particular attention is given to ice cream, so if you’re fond of it and want to try to make it yourself at home, here you’ll find a lot of fantastic ice cream ideas.
Il blog italiano di Serena è pieno di ricette interessanti, specialmente di torte e dolci. Un’attenzione particolare è rivolta ai gelati, per cui, se ne andate matti e volete provare a farli a casa, qui troverete un sacco di spunti fantastici.

Yvette’s Twistedvines:
Browsing Yvette’s blog will make you sojourn in a timeless, delicate, flowery and romantic atmosphere. Her pictures and her sweet recipes will just make you want to have a cup of tea at her home, because she’ll surely make you feel cozy and comfortable.
Gironzolare per il blog di Yvette vi trasporterà in un’atmosfera senza tempo, delicata e romantica. Le foto e le ricette dolci vi faranno venir voglia di bere una tazza di tè a casa sua, perché di sicuro Yvette vi farà sentire a vostro agio.

Lavender and Lime:
Tandy’s recipes are always tasty andeasy to make. Never miss her Friday’s Food Quiz weekly post: it’s so interesting an funny!
Le ricette di Tandy sono sempre gustose e facili da preparare. Da non perdere il post settimanale con il Friday’s Food Quiz: è così interessante e divertente!

Ang Sarap:
Ray’s blog is extremely interesting: his recipes comes from all over the world, and he pays special attention to the origins of dishes, so there’s always something new to learn from him.
Il blog di Ray è estremamente interessante: le sue ricette vengono da tutto il mondo, prestando molta attenzione alle origini delle pietanze, perciò c’è sempre un sacco da imparare da lui.

Cooking Lessons:
Sally’s tutorials and pictures are simply great! If you want to learn how to cook just have a look at her blog, or if you live in Massachusetts, simply attend one of her cooking classes based in her kitchen.
I tutorial e le foto di Sally sono semplicemente favolosi! Se volete imparare a cucinare, date un’occhiata al suo blog o, se vivete dalle parti del Massachusetts, seguite una delle sue lezioni nella sua cucina.

La Casita Inspirada:
Caitlin’s blog is fresh and full of interesting and tasty recipes, especially sweet recipes: they simply make you drool!!
Il blog di Caitlin e fresco e pieno di ricette interessanti e saporite, specialmente dolci: vi faranno semplicemente sbavare!!

From the Little Yellow Kitchen:
What to say about Chrissy and Lauren? The recipes they cook in their little yellow kitchen are both simple and creative, full of the zest they add to everything they do!
Che dire di Chrissy e Lauren? Le ricette che preparano nella loro piccola cucina gialla sono semplici e creative, piene di quel pepe che aggiungono a ogni cosa che fanno!

Bake Five:
Hannah is a great baker and she bakes with so much love and passion that it’s impossible not to be involved in her enthusiasm!
Hannah è una gran fornaia e fa torte e dolci con così tanto amore e passione che è impossibile non essere contagiati dal suo entusiasmo!

Saucy Dipper:
The idea behind Sara’s blog is simple: to show how many wonders you can do with sauces. Sauces and dips can turn the simplest of dishes into the most fantastic culinary success. Don’t you believe it?
L’idea dietro al blog di Sara è semplice: mostrare quante meraviglie si possono fare con le salse. Le salse possono trasformare il più semplice dei piatti nel più fantastico successo culinario. Non ci credete?

CookBook Archeaology
As the name of the blog suggests, here you can find historical recipes from old and ancient cookbooks (even dating back to the Roman Empire!!!), studied and cooked by Celia with love and passion. Because we’ll never really understand what we are now, if we don’t know our past and history.
Come suggerisce il titolo, qui troverete ricette storiche da libri antichi (perfino dell’Impero romano!!!), studiate e cucinate da Celia con amore e passione. Perché non capiremo mai cosa siamo adesso se non conosciamo la nostra storia e il nostro passato.

Bouffe Délicieuse
Shelvasha’s baking skills are superb, but besides being a great baker, she’s also an excellent photographer. If you don’t believe me, have a look here.
Le doti pasticcere di Shelvasha sono superbe, ma, oltre ad essere un’ottima cuoca, è anche un’eccellente fotografa. Se non mi credete, date un’occhiata qui.

Now, some more pictures of the garden.
E ora un’altro po’ di foto del giardino.

Here’s some of our roses…
Ecco alcune delle nostre rose…

A Serenella 99 Barni rose on a rainy day - Una rosa Barni Serenella 99 in un mattino di pioggia

David Austin's Lady Emma Hamilton rose - Rosa Lady Emma Hamilton di David Austin

Rose Pierre de Ronsard

David Austin's A Shropshire Lad rose - Rosa A Shropshire Lad di David Austin

Hosta…
Hosta…

Hosta tardiana Blue Moon

Strawberries…
Fragole…

Rhubarb…
Rabarbaro…

The first batch of rhubarb - Il primo raccolto di rabarbaro

Zucchini…
Zucchine…

Peonies…
Peonie…

Chinese Peony "Yin Feng Quiao Dui" - Peonia cinese "Polvere d'argento e d'oro"

Unknown Chinese peony blossom - Peonia cinese in boccio

Unknown Chinese peony - Peonia cinese

Ok.Now let’s try to list 7 seven things about me and/or us. Things I haven’t already listed here, I mean. Mmm… that’s not easy… Let me think…
Ok. Adesso vediamo di buttar giù le 7 cose su di me/noi. Cose che non ho già detto qui, intendo. Mmm… non è facile… Fatemi pensare…

1. My supreme culinary goal is to cook a real mole poblano, with real Mexican chocolate and all the kinds of chili peppers it requires. Mario and I fell in love with mole poblano while we were on holiday in Puebla and I’ve been dreaming of making it since. My secret dream would be to be taught by a Mexican cook, or rather housewife, possibly in Mexico. Am I asking too much?
1. Il mio supremo obiettivo culinario è cucinare un vero mole poblano con vero cioccolato messicano e tutti i tipi di peperoncini richiesti. Io e Mario ci siamo innamorati del mole poblano durante una vacanza a Puebla e sogno di rifarlo da allora. Il mio sogno segreto sarebbe quello di imparare direttamente da una cuoca o casalinga messicana, magari in Messico. Chiedo troppo?

2. My favourite song of all time is (forgive the repetition) The times they are a-changin’ by Bob Dylan, though Mr Tambourine Man can easily compete with it.
2. La mia canzone preferita di tutti i tempi è The times they are a-changin’ di Bob Dylan, anche se Mr Tambourine Man se la gioca.

3. Talking about music, I can’t help starting autonatically to jump and dance whenever I hear the first notes of Iggy Pop’s The passenger: it’s too catchy!
3. Parlando di musica, non riesco a fare a meno di cominciare a saltare e ballare automaticamente ogni volta che sento l’intro di The passenger di Iggy Pop: è troppo orecchiabile!

4. Mario’s dream journey is a trip to Japan. As for me, I wish to visit (in three different journeys, of course…) the Southern United States, New England and Latin America, possibly following Che Guevara and Alberto Granado’s path in The motorcycle’s diaries (not by motorcycle, of course… I can’t ride).
4. Il viaggio dei sogni di Mario è il Giappone. Io vorrei visitare gli Stati Uniti del Sud, il New England e l’America Latina, possibilmente seguendo il percorso di Che Guevara e Alberto Granado ne I diari della motocicletta (non in moto però, ché non ci so andare…).

5. I took my very first trip abroad when I was 12. We went to Provence and I immediately fell in love with the place. That’s why I furnished my house in a vaguely Provençal style.
5. Ho fatto il mio primo viaggio all’estero a 12 anni. Siamo andati in Provenza e io mi sono subito innamorata del luogo. Ecco perché ho arredato la mia casa in stile vagamente provenzale.

6. I adore blue pots.
6. Adoro i vasi blu.

7. I also adore candles and lanterns. We have many in the garden because we love candle-lit summer evenings.
7. Adoro anche le candele e le lanterne. Ne abbiamo diverse in giardino perché ci piacciono le serate estive a lume di candela.

I hope you enjoy reading this and again many compliments to the award winners!
Spero vi siate divertiti e complimenti ancora ai vincitori!

Butterfly Iphicildes Podalirius in the garden - Farfalla Iphicildes Podalirius in giardino

28 comments
  1. So nice to see a post from you again and congratulations on the award!
    Your pictures of your garden are exquisite.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Cindy said:

    Congratulations on the award and thanks for sharing these stunning photos with us 🙂

  3. Tandy said:

    congratulations, and thank you for sharing, and the award! Have a super day 🙂

  4. What beautiful pictures and I can’t wait to explore your list more. I’m familiar with a few of the blogs, but not all.If you visit the South, U.S., just don’t come in the summer!

    • Rita said:

      Thanks Rufus! That’s a good advice: maybe spring is a better season for a trip!

  5. Thanks so much for sharing the love! I can’t wait to check out your favourites, I love finding new blogs. Your peonies are amazing, they are my favourite flower but you never see them here. Seeing yours has given me confidence that they would grow so I am going to order some online!! 😀

    • Rita said:

      Oh, yes! Peonies can be grown quite easily and they’re simply marvelous. They say they can be grown in pots, too. I bought mine in a peony nursery near Viterbo, Italy, where they grow and sell exclusively Chinese peonies. If you are interested, here’s the link to their website: http://www.centrobotanicomoutan.it/

  6. Hun, i really don’t know how to thank you. You are really lovely and i really appreciate that you nominated me and my blog for this prize. But unfortunately i am not able to accept it. I am living through a very unpleasant moment, i am struggling even to keep my own blog alive, every day i think about closing it… so… yeah, at the moment i have to reject the prize, and i am sorry about that 😦 besides, i wrote a post on my blog that says that i do not accept prizes, and this isn’t due to a lack of good manners… it’s just a decision i have made 🙂 the prize you gave me last time.. was one last exception 😉

    • Rita said:

      Oh, Serena! Please don’t close the blog!!! I’m not offended if you can’t accept the award: at least I hope you get more visits thanks to this post! 😉

  7. my first award! im flattered, thank you! muah!

    ps: im loving those rhubarb! (:

  8. Congratulation on your award..well deserved and I can’t wait to explore your list
    Your garden looks amazing..I love tehe variety of things in it

  9. You are so sweet, thank you!! And congratulations to you for winning the award as well!

  10. Shelvasha said:

    Rita your garden looks AMAZING!!!! No words….

  11. Yvette said:

    Rita, thank you for sharing the love, and it’s always a pleasure visiting your blog. Your garden looks beautiful and colourful, those roses and peonies I just adore. I’m sure I’ll have fun discovering a few of those new blogs on your award list. Grazie Mille! x

  12. Wow I am so flattered you have given me an award.

  13. Congratulations to you for winning the award and a big THANK YOU for mentioning me on your list of 15. I always enjoy hearing from you and seeing your recipes and photos.

  14. Those strawberries and rhubarb look beautiful. I think I would be popping them in a baking dish with a little crumble over the top very quickly.
    Thanks for the award too, very kind of you Rita. (I liked reading about my blog in Italian, it sounds so much more exciting 😉

    • Rita said:

      Already done!! Rhubarb and strawberry are just the perfect combo for a crumble! 😉

  15. summersher said:

    Congratulations, Rita!
    What a gorgeous garden!! Your peonies are beautiful… Thanks so much for the award, you are so kind.
    I hope you are well and back on your feet in the kitchen and out of your cast!
    Also, I don’t think I commented on the posts about the book you made for your son, but its ADORABLE. What a great gift idea!!

    • Rita said:

      Yes, I’m fine now (and out of my cast!! :)). I’m glad you like the book: it was such a precious gift!

  16. Darling Rita, thank you ever so much fot the lovely award. I have accepted and aknowledged it on my page. Forgive me, but I won’t be able to pass it on right now. Just at the moment, the search for 15 deserving blogs is a tad too demanding. I shall comply as soon as things will ease up. Much love, Alex

  17. Amanda said:

    Congratulations Rita and many thanks for the beautiful photo’s.

  18. Sally said:

    Oh Rita, I have completely dropped out of sight, so sorry. Let’s start with the roses–so lovely! Your pictures are sublime. Can you believe that my climbing roses have just begun to bloom today? That’s an indicator of the kind of spring we’ve had.

    Congratulations on your award, you totally deserve it. And thank you for the mention! You are too kind. I don’t really know what I’m supposed to do and my tech skills are, well, they aren’t. I have none. I’ve been wanting to change my blog and am still stuck where I started, but so much other stuff to do!

    I hope you are enjoying your summer and if you get your New England wish, I hope you come in the summer (any summer), you can stay with us!

    • Rita said:

      Thanks Sally! if we ever come ti the US, I promise I’ll visit you!! I’d love to meet you personally!!! 🙂

Leave a comment