Cherry Jam

I know I’m a bit late with this recipe: the cherry season is almost gone by now. All the same, I had bought a lot of cherries to make the Red Fruit Crumble and I couldn’t help making some jam. I’m a fanatic of jams and preserves, as some of you know (have a look here, here, and here for a quick look…), and of course, cherry jam is no exception.

Cherry jam is absolutely delicious: the sore point is that cherries need to be pitted one by one, so try to be patient, very patient, and the result won’t disappoint you.

I had never made cherry jam myself, so I used this recipe which I find absolutely fantastic! It’s in Italian, so here’s the English version.

Enjoy!!!

Ingredients
1 kg cherries, halved and pitted
300 g sugar
1 lemon, juice and zest

Preparation time: about 30 minutes plus an overnight rest
Cooking time: 45-60 minutes

Toss the cherries into a bowl together with sugar and the lemon juice and zest. Let the cherries rest in the fridge for a whole night. Remove the lemon zest.

Place the bowl content in a large saucepan. Bring to the simmer and cook for about 45-60 minutes or until the jam is set, skimming off scum from surface if needed. To know if the setting point is reached, try the wrinkle test: drop a little jam onto a cold (better if previously refrigerated) saucer, wait for the jam to cool, then tilt the saucer on its side. If the jam doesn’t slide off, but wrinkles on its surface, it is set. Otherwise, a little more cooking is necessary.

For a more delicate finish, you can mash the fruits with a blender to have a creamier texture. In this case, mash the fruits after removing the pan from heat and before pouring it into jars.

Now pour the jam into airtight jars. Cover with lid. To sterilize and vacuum-seal the jars, put them in a pan, cover them with cold water and bring to the boil. Let boil for about 20-30 minutes. Remove from the pan and let them cool upside-down, so that the lid is sterilized, too. When they get cool, you should hear the vacuum-sealing “click”. Jars are perfectly sterilized and can be stored in a cool and dry place.

Marmellata di ciliegie

Lo so, sono un po’ in ritardo con questa ricetta: la stagione delle ciliegie è quasi finita. Lo stesso, avevo comprato un bel po’ di ciliegie per il Crumble ai Frutti Rossi e non ho potuto fare a meno di preparare un po’ di marmellata. Sono una fanatica delle marmellate, come qualcuno di voi avrà già capito (date un’occhiata qui, qui e qui…) e, ovviamente, la marmellata di ciliegie non fa eccezione.

La marmellata di ciliegie è assolutamente deliziosa: la nota dolente è che le ciliegie vanno snocciolate una ad una, perciò armatevi di pazienza, tanta pazienza, e il risultato non vi deluderà.

Io non avevo mai fatto la marmellata di ciliegie, così ho usato la ricetta – fantastica! – che ho trovato qui.

Buon divertimento!!!

Ingredienti
1 kg di ciliegie tagliate a metà e snocciolate
300 g di zucchero
Succo e scorza di 1 limone

Tempo di preparazione: 30 minuti più una nottata di riposo
Tempo di cottura: 45-60 minuti

Mettere le ciliegie in una ciotola con lo zucchero, la scorza e il succo di limone. Lasciar riposare in frigo per una notte, dopodiché rimuovere la scorza del limone.

Versare il contenuto della ciotola in una pentola capiente. Portare a bollore e cuocere per 45-60 minuti, fino a che non si ottiene la consistenza desiderata e schiumando, se necessario, con una schiumarola. Per sapere se si raggiunge il giusto punto di cottura, fare la prova del piattino: versare una goccia di marmellata in un piattino freddo (meglio di freezer), attendere che la marmellata si raffreddi e inclinare il piattino. Se la marmellata non scivola, è pronta. Altrimenti è necessaria ancora un po’ di cottura.

Per un tocco più delicato, passare la marmellata al passaverdure non appena è pronta.

Adesso versare la marmellata nei barattoli da sottovuoto. Coprire con il coperchio. Per sterilizzare i barattoli, metterli in una pentola, coprirli con acqua fredda e far bollire per circa 20-30 minuti. Toglierli dalla pentola e lasciarli raffreddare a testa in giù così che anche il tappo si sterilizzi ben bene. Quando si raffreddano, dovrebbe sentirsi il caratteristico “click” del sottovuoto. I barattoli sono quindi sterilizzati e possono essere conservati in dispensa.

16 comments
  1. Tandy said:

    I wish I could find a reliable and good jam recipe that uses grape juice instead of sugar so I could try this!

    • Rita said:

      I’ve never thought of grape juice instead of sugar: that’s a good idea. The point is that it’s not so easy to find. I mean, pure grape juice. 😦

  2. Cindy said:

    It looks beautiful, cherries are so expensive here 😦

    • Rita said:

      If this matters something, cherries ARE expensive here, too. But maybe not so expensive as in South Africa. Do you have cherry trees? 😛

  3. I would absolutely love to make this recipe but I don’t have the proper jars? Is there another way that I can store it?

    • Rita said:

      Do you live in the US, Marina? If so, I think you can use Ball® canning jars. They are the most widely used, while here in Italy we have Bormioli Rocco® canning jars. I suppose it’s quite the same. I hope this helps! 🙂

      • Hi Rita, yes I am in US (you and I actually emailed each other in the last year). I guess there is no way around it but to buy the canning jars 🙂

        ~Marina (aka Cook At Home Magazine)

      • Rita said:

        Yes, Marina, of course I remember our email exchange, but I didn’t remember where you live… Sorry! 😛 I hope you find the canning jars! 😀

  4. Not too late at all! At least, not here. I think they’ll be coming in through August. (They had better be!)

    • Rita said:

      So I hope to read some tasty cherry recipe on your blog!!! 🙂

  5. This jam looks so tasty! My parents have a cherry tree in their backyard, so next spring I’ll have to try this out with some of their cherries 🙂

    • Rita said:

      Thanks! I hope you’ll try. It’s really worth it, especially when fruit comes from your own garden.

  6. elena said:

    che buona la marmellata! un saluto dall’italia!!

Leave a comment