Quince Tartelettes à la Rose

After so much chanting and talking about the splendour of my quinces and the luxuriant harvest of this year, I’ve finally managed to post a quince-related recipe. That, in this case, was purposely created to enter this pretty “sweet” contest. Unfortunately, I broke my leg so I couldn’t submit this recipe in time before the appointed deadline. All the same, I wanted to try it, so here it is.

For these tartelettes I was inspired by a Lebanese recipe for baked stuffed apples that employed rose water. I thought that rose water would be perfect with quinces, especially if enhanced by the warmth of spices like cardamom, cinnamon and cloves.

For the pie crust I used my mom’s traditional recipe that goes well with almost everything.

Ingredients

For the pie crust:
3 cups flour, sifted
2 egg yolks
1 cup sugar
150 g butter, at room temperature
pinch of salt

For the filling:
1.5 kg quinces
100 g brown sugar
30 g butter
100 ml rose water
1 tsp cinnamon
6-7 cardamom pods, seeds only
4-5 cloves
1/2 tsp aniseed
juice and zest of 1 lemon
50 g raisins

Preparation time: 1 hour and 30 minutes
Cooking time: 45 minutes for quinces, 30-60 minutes for the tartelettes

Makes about 22-24

Prepare the pie crust as explained here.

Preheat oven to 190°C (375°F).

Peel, core and cut the quinces into small cubes. Melt the butter in a large saucepan and stir in sugar, cinnamon, cardamom seeds, cloves and aniseed. Toss the quince cubes and cook for about 15 minutes, stirring now and then. Pour rose water and lemon juice; stir in lemon zest. Now cook for about 30 minutes till quinces are soft and tender. Stir in raisins and remove from heat.

Spread the dough 0.5 cm high with a rolling pin and cut it with round cutters (8-10 cm diameter).

Grease a muffin mould with melted butter and sprinkle with flour. Place the dough rounds in each slot so to create a sort of little baskets. Pin with a fork. Fill the tartelettes with the quince mixture and bake for 15 minutes.

Serve hot, preferably with some brandy butter or whipped cream.

Crostatine di Mele Cotogne alla Rosa

Dopo aver così a lungo decantato lo splendore delle mie mele cotogne e l’abbondante raccolto di quest’anno, sono riuscita finalmente a postare una ricetta sulle cotogne. Che, nel caso specifico, era stata creata per partecipare a questo “dolcissimo” contest. Sfortunatamente, però, mi sono rotta una gamba nel frattempo e non sono riuscita a inviare la ricetta in tempo prima della scadenza. Pazienza. Comunque, la volevo fare lo stesso e quindi eccola qua.

Per queste crostatine mi sono ispirata a una ricetta libanese per le mele ripiene al forno che prevedeva l’acqua di rose. Ho pensato che l’acqua di rose stesse benissimo con le mele cotogne, soprattutto se aromatizzata con spezie come cannella, cardamomo e chiodi di garofano.

Per l’impasto delle crostatine ho usato la ricetta della mamma che va bene praticamente per qualunque cosa.

Ingredienti

Per l’impasto:
3 tazze di farina setacciata
2 tuorli
1 tazza di zucchero
150 g di burro a temperatura ambiente
un pizzico di sale

Per il ripieno:
1.5 kg di mele cotogne
100 g di zucchero di canna
30 g di burro
100 ml di acqua di rose
1 cucchiaino di cannella
6-7 bacche di cardamomo, solo i semi interni
4-5 chiodi di garofano
1/2 cucchiaino di semi di anice
succo scorza di un limone
50 g di uvetta

Tempo di preparazione: 1 ora e mezzo
Tempo di cottura: 45 minuti per le mele cotogne, 30-60 minuti per le crostatine

Per circa 22-24 crostatine

Preparare l’impasto per le crostatine come spiegato qui.

Preriscaldare il forno a 190°C.

Pelare le mele cotogne, rimuovere il torsolo e tagliarle a cubetti. Sciogliere il burro in una padella e mescolarvi lo zucchero, la cannella, il cardamomo, i chiodi di garofano e i semi di anice. Aggiungere le cotogne e far cuocere per circa 15 minuti. Versare l’acqua di rose e il succo di limone e aggiungere la scorza del limone. Cuocere per 30 minuti o fino a quando le cotogne non risultano tenere. Aggiungere l’uvetta e rimuovere dal fuoco.

Stendere la pasta con un mattarello a un’altezza di circa mezzo centimetro e ritagliare con un tagliapasta dei cerchi del diametro di circa 8-10 cm.

Ungere uno stampo da muffin con del burro fuso e cospargere di farina. Collocare i cerchi di pasta in negli alloggiamenti dello stampo in modo da formare una specie di cestini. Bucherellare con una forchetta. Riempire le crostatine con il ripieno di cotogne e cuocere in forno per 15 minuti.

Servire calde preferibilmente accompagnate con burro al brandy o panna montata.


20 comments
  1. Sadly, our quinces are already finished here. I was on a wild goose chase a couple weeks ago to find any.

    This looks so lovely, though, and I especially like the inclusion of rose water! I hope that I remember this for next year’s brief season.

    • Rita said:

      Unfortunately quinces are a rarity. Maybe because they can’t be eaten raw. It’s a pity, because they’re wonderful!

  2. Mmm…those look so dainty and cute and tasty!

    BTW, I still can’t believe you broke your leg! Are you doing much better now?

    • Rita said:

      Oh, yes! I really broke my leg. I suppose I had nothing better to do…😀 Jokes part, I feel fine though I can’t walk (and won’t be able to walk for a pretty long time… :()

  3. Amanda said:

    This is an inspirational way to use up the quinces which will be in season here soonish. Our tree is usually a very good producer and I struggle to find new ways to cook them, so thanks Rita.

    • Rita said:

      I perfectly understand you! Having a such a productive tree, I try to find more ways to cook quinces. Well, it’s a very satisfying challenge!😉

  4. Cindy said:

    They look just perfect, Rita. Unfortunately quinces are worth there weight in gold here, unless you’re lucky enough to know someone who has a tree.

    • Rita said:

      Here it’s the same. Quinces are difficult to find on the market and if you’re lucky enough to find some, they’re indecently expensive. That’s why I chose to plant a tree…😉

  5. summersher said:

    These look perfect for entertaining! So fancy!
    I’ve never had a quince. Or, this is embarrassing- even seen one in real life!!😛 they’re exclusive like that.
    Sounds wonderful with the cardamom, rose water, and anise.

    • Rita said:

      Don’t feel embarassed because quinces aren’t very common. It’s so hard to find them! Anyway, if you can’t find quinces in Colorado, I suggest you to try with apples. Taste will be slightly different but I’m sure the tartalettes will be delicious as well.🙂

    • Rita said:

      Thank you Mandy! Are quinces available in Mauritus? They’re such an uncommon fruit!😉

      • Sadly we don’t get quinces here. Well, not that I have seen.

      • Rita said:

        What a pity! What about using apples? That would do!🙂

  6. Rita, No quinces this year😦 My bush or tree or whatever it is, now has almost usurped my entire garden. It gave me a glorious show of flowers and not one piece of fruit. I was going to cut it back this year and never did (dislocated my shoulder this summer, am now all better, but I sympathize with your injury-related incapacities–bummer! I hope you recover soon.)

    I love the seasoning you use in this recipe. I might make them with apples or pears or both in combination and just cook them less. Nice for a big party! Thanks.

    • Rita said:

      I’m sorry for your shoulder! And for your quince tree, too! What a pity! You know what? I think pears would be great in this recipe. Surely worth trying. I agree with you: they’re nice for a big party. I actually thought of making these tartelettes for New Year’s Eve or for Christmas, maybe.😉

  7. Hannah said:

    Hi Rita, thanks for dropping in on my blog! Anyway, I’ve never heard of quinces before… But, I think those tarts you made look really appealing! (:

    • Rita said:

      Hi Hannah! Thanks to you. Well, quinces aren’t that common… But if you want to try it, apples and/or pears would do. Only cook them a little less (quince flesh is really hard, much harder than apples…)😉

  8. This is the first time I encountered quince, I havent heard those, I guess we dont have it here in NZ? How does it taste? What can be a replacement fruit for this recipe, it looks really yummy!

    • Rita said:

      Quinces are similar to apples but much more aromatic and perfumed and with a harder flesh that needs to be cooked for a pretty long time. It’s hard to describe their flavor. I think apples would do, or even pears, but remember to cook them less because their flesh is softer than quinces.🙂

Leave a Reply

